Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

Bar Muffs

commuterman
Scratcher!
Scratcher!

Bar Muffs

Post by commuterman on Sun 04 Sep 2011, 4:20 pm

Looking to fit bar muffs for the winter, Oxford look good and have several types. I've never used them before and have heard mixed reviews about interference with controls. Anyone got any experience of Oxford ones, or in general? (Was tempted to put muffs in general but asking for trouble there..Shocked )
LI
Two Tone
Two Tone

Re: Bar Muffs

Post by LI on Mon 05 Sep 2011, 10:48 am

I had some. First issue was that you had to cut a hole in them to fit the mirror bar through. Not easy to do neatly without foam leaking out over time. Then I found that they caught on the levers and you really don't want them holding your clutch in... They're also not easy to get your hand in and out of quickly while moving (say to clean your visor or switch to reserve). Finally, they really look nasty when on.

I think a good quality pair of winter gloves are probably a better buy to my mind.
Chris_B
Scratcher!
Scratcher!

Post by Chris_B on Sat 10 Mar 2012, 9:26 pm

I ride year round and fitted bar muffs on two different bikes (Sym 125 and CB500) for the winter months and find them absolutely brilliant. They're Oxford ones and did take some getting used to.