Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

Hello, and questions!

OorWullie
OorWullie
Scratcher!
Scratcher!

Hello, and questions!  Empty Hello, and questions!

Post by OorWullie on Mon 22 Apr 2019, 10:34 pm

Hi everyone, I have just passed my test 2 weeks ago and am looking for my first big bike. I need advice!

Local (ish!) to me is a Honda hornet 600. Its an 02 with 29000 miles, decent condition and 1 years mot. Farther away (5+ hrs ride) I have seen a cb500. Its a 1999 with 36000 miles, mot til January. Prices are close, 1200 for the hornet, 1295 for the cb500. Either way, I would have to trade in my Honda cb125f against it, so expect to pay between £100-200.

I am 37, so did DAS and now have a full A license. I am 6'2", and around 20st. I did CBT almost a year ago, spent time on the 125 then did the DAS. I have no motorbike experience prior to the last year though. I have friends who are riders, who tell me the Hornet is the bike for me, saying the cb will be too small, underpowered for my size and weight and I'll outgrow it too soon. I'm not convinced!

I have a car for the practicalities, so the bike is really just a toy. My riding will be mainly A and B roads, with hopefully the odd track day (at Knockhill probably) if time and money allows!

So, if you have made it down to here, what do you think? I guess most of the people who are saying cb500's are boring/underpowered/too small have probably never been on one, and coming from 11bhp, those 58 horses will seem quite lively! Or should I go for the hornet, based on the extra size and power output? And yes, I'm aware the members here are probably biased towards the cb500, but please be honest!

Thanks for reading, and for any advice you can give!
hh_12345
hh_12345
Laser Shark
Laser Shark

Hello, and questions!  Empty Re: Hello, and questions!

Post by hh_12345 on Tue 23 Apr 2019, 10:17 am

Hello and welcome.