Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

Engine misfire

Ielgie

Engine misfire

Post by Ielgie on Thu 14 Sep 2017, 10:12 pm

I have just bought a low mileage CB500 (14000, baked up with old mots). It is a 1994 model. I bought it for use to and from work, and occasionally use at work, I am a motorcycle instructor. It has been regularly serviced, the last time in April when it was mot'd. It has done very little miles since.
It has a misfire between about 4500 and 6500 revs. 
It starts easily without the use of the choke.
I rode it home today in the rain and it seemed worse, although it still pulls very well and is great fun to ride.
Can anyone help with likely causes. 
Thanks
Beresford
the 900
the 900

Re: Engine misfire

Post by Beresford on Thu 14 Sep 2017, 10:25 pm

I'd check the basics, as "service" wasn't done by yourself, I assume. So as the bike is 23 years old, have a look at the carb rubbers which may be perished, and air filter which may not have been replaced or may even be missing.
Ielgie

Post by Ielgie on Thu 14 Sep 2017, 10:28 pm

I have checked the air filter and it looks brand new which led me to believe the rest would be ok. I intend to change plugs and oil anyway and then I know they have been done. Any other advice whilst I have it apart.
Jameshambleton

Post by Jameshambleton on Fri 15 Sep 2017, 8:29 am

I'd suspect it'll be your plug caps on the end of your ht leads. Make sure that they are fully clipped onto your sparkplugs and need to have a reasonable amount of force to pull them off. 
or 
it's the carb diaphragms that's causing your issue, maybe worth checking if you've got any restictor washers between the carbs and inlet rubbers on the back of the engine
eternally_troubled
Admin
Admin

Awesome!

Post by eternally_troubled on Fri 15 Sep 2017, 7:45 pm