Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

Troubleshooting non-firing engine - choke info

fgclark123
Squiddy
Squiddy

Troubleshooting non-firing engine - choke info

Post by fgclark123 on Sun 03 Sep 2017, 4:57 pm

Hi there,

I've just tried to start my bike after about 2 months of non use. It's been under a rain cover sat outside.

The starter motor turns the engine over, but the engine doesn't fire.

There is petrol in the tank.

To be honest, mechanically I'm a complete novice. Clearly there is a problem, but where do I sensibly begin to troubleshoot this??

Thanks a lot
John_B
Scratcher!
Scratcher!

Re: Troubleshooting non-firing engine - choke info

Post by John_B on Sun 03 Sep 2017, 6:05 pm

Check the fuel tap is on, and if the tank is not reasonaby full put it on reserve. I know it is obvious but we all miss the obvious sometimes. Put the choke on, and give it a good chance.

If it does not start after a few goes with choke on, put the choke off. If you overdo trying to start it with the choke on, especially if you smell petrol, that can mean there is too much fuel in the engine--flooded--and the plugs have got wet with fuel. That will stop it firing. Sometimes you can clear fuel flooding without pulling out the plugs just by turning over the engine for a while over *without* choke, or by leaving it overnight to evaporate, though the quick way is to pull out the spark plugs and check for wetness and get everything dry.

If it is still no go, my next step would be check there is a good spark at the plugs, which is hard to do well without removing the tank. For more ideas, see this recent thread on the same topic http://www.cb500club.net/t5384-bike-won-t-start
fgclark123
Squiddy
Squiddy

Post by fgclark123 on Sun 03 Sep 2017, 8:06 pm

That's really helpful, thanks.