You don’t stop riding because you’re getting old, but you get old when you stop riding.

new to honda

biglee
Godly
Godly

new to honda

Post by biglee on Sat 10 Oct 2015, 6:12 pm

hi all,just lst saturday purchased my first cbf 500 08 7,200 miles silver abs been bikeing for meny meny years had meny bikes from fs1e to harley electroglide and loads more inbetween  my last 2 bikes i had together er5 and gs500 both good in there own rights but this is my first cbf and i have got to say better than the er5 and gs so far hs anyone got any good dvice on owning one what to look out for plus and minus points on the bike ect i have noticed the ignition swith is a little fiddley hard to get the key in and out sometimes  i have wd 40 it but made no difference any suggestions ? thanks in advance all cheers
teamster1975
Admin
Admin

Re: new to honda

Post by teamster1975 on Sat 10 Oct 2015, 6:30 pm

Welcome mate!
I've no experience with the CBF but the engine is the same, they're bullet proof if you change the oil regularly.
Only problem I ever had with the ignition was the handlebar lock doesn't quite line up where the stop on the frame has worn; have to turn the bars slightly to engage it. Oh that and the key can be removed with the ignition on, just wear and tear that, have to remember to put key in pocket after starting!
eternally_troubled
Admin
Admin

Awesome!

Post by eternally_troubled on Sat 10 Oct 2015, 7:20 pm

Hello there!

Have you looked at the key? They can wear, which might explain the problem.

It might also be worth trying some graphite-type lock lubricant, if WD40 doesn't have the desired effect.
biglee
Godly
Godly

Post by biglee on Sun 11 Oct 2015, 11:43 am

thanks for your replies i will try grifite
ashcroc
the 900
the 900

Awesome!

Post by ashcroc on Sun 11 Oct 2015, 12:14 pm

Run a pencil lead over the edge of the key. It deposits graphite powder into the lock & is far cheaper than a spray Wink