Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

Rear wheel installation

jchesshyre
the 900
the 900

Rear wheel installation

Post by jchesshyre on Wed 28 Jan 2015, 9:07 pm

Right. I've been working on bikes since I started riding them in 2002. In that time I've racked up roughly 180,000 miles on various bikes, the majority on the CB500 I had before my current low-mileage one. I'd consider myself pretty proficient – I do everything except tyres myself and (touch wood) have never had any problems with the work I've done. Yes some jobs are fiddly and my patience has improved hugely, but I'm pretty good with tools, understanding machines, and using my hands.

However, I find installing the rear wheel on the CB a F * * * I N G  N I G H T M A R E. It was annoying but do-able on my previous rear drum brake one, but the added factor of the rear disc brake means I get into an enormous flap whenever I do it. Getting the pads round the disc without getting any of it greasy, and then lining up the chain adjusters, wheel, and caliper bracket whilst manoeuvring the axle and lifting the (quite heavy) wheel AND not letting the bloody spacers fall out is such a faff.

Does anyone have any tips of the kind that aren't in the Haynes manual, that you've learnt just from doing the job several times as one does each time, that might make it easier for me? It makes me dread doing any work that involves taking the rear wheel out! Cheers in advance.
jerryfudd

Awesome!

Re: Rear wheel installation

Post by jerryfudd on Wed 28 Jan 2015, 9:14 pm

Put a block of wood under the center stand to raise it up, sit behind the bike almost under the rear tray with the wheel in your lap and you can take the weight with your legs positioning the wheel freeing up your hands for the axle.

sullivj
the 900
the 900

Post by sullivj on Wed 28 Jan 2015, 9:52 pm

Get a friend to help you!
Beresford
the 900
the 900

Post by Beresford on Wed 28 Jan 2015, 10:57 pm