Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

serious loss of power

terry1979
Crotch Rocketuer
Crotch Rocketuer

serious loss of power

Post by terry1979 on Tue 16 Dec 2014, 10:30 pm

Hi Guys

my 2nd problem with my bike had an issue of over revving but thats sorted now was the cables to tight... btw i am a complete utter novice in the mechanics to the point of no idea....

but coming home from work last night on dual carriage way and the bike suddenly lost power will rev to 6k but wont go above 60mph it will ride ok if i stay steady on the throttle but if i open up to overtake or go faster she is sounding fuel starved and chuggs wanting to go then dies off constantly i thought it may be a fuel issue but the system has had a fuel treatment and new fuel but on the left hand side of my bike there is a clear line that seems to be sucking itself closed where it connects to the carbs am i right in thinking this is a fuel line or air line that may be causing this.. any help or ideas would be fantastic as i really need to get it sorted as shes my only way into work. 

thanks in advance and merry xmas ride safe all of you please.. Smile
HomeBrew
the 900
the 900

Re: serious loss of power

Post by HomeBrew on Tue 16 Dec 2014, 10:35 pm

I think you mean the vacuum line that opens the fuel petcock, or is it the big fat one? They both need to be un-kinked for fuel to flow. If it has a clear line somebody must have replaced it because standard they are grey.
terry1979
Crotch Rocketuer
Crotch Rocketuer

Post by terry1979 on Tue 16 Dec 2014, 10:37 pm

its a small clear one it looks like its bee replaced but it does seem to tight its almost a 90 bend where its pushed on :-S i would upload a pick to help make it a bit clearer but its a bit dark at the mo but i can post in the morning.