Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

Loctite

stormbringer

Loctite

Post by stormbringer on Tue 04 Mar 2014, 12:43 pm

To stop nuts and bolts coming loose, Loctite is said to be the right thing to use.

I've never owned a bottle of this stuff, but found this morning my lefthand bar-end-weight unscrewing itself - again. Also, rumour has it the front brake-carrier is supposed to be installed using this stuff.

So, I've looked in the Loctite-catalogue. There are several types. Then I looked in the online catalogue of a few local suppliers. Everywhere, it's the 243 type that is on stock. 243 is 'medium', suitable for up to M36. Hmmm... I was planning on getting a bottle of 221 'light', suitable for up to M12, but being an absolute beginner when it comes to this stuff I'll have to ask you nice people for advice.

What do I buy for my CB?

Anyone who can shed a light on the subject?
eternally_troubled
Admin
Admin

Awesome!

Re: Loctite

Post by eternally_troubled on Tue 04 Mar 2014, 1:54 pm

Medium (I think it is normally blue in colour?) is fine. Light is probably also fine for most of the bolts on the bike.

Light is for situations where medium would cause you to snap the fastner in question before the thread-lock released itself ie. small diameter bolts.

It is wise to use some on the front brake caliper/carrier bolts - they shouldn't come undone if you have torqued them correctly, they won't come undone if you have torqued them correctly and applied thread-lock. Essentially it plays a similar role to a split pin or lockwire.
badseeds

Awesome!

Post by badseeds on Tue 04 Mar 2014, 2:36 pm