Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

auto chain lub systems

kerrycrofter

auto chain lub systems

Post by kerrycrofter on Thu 14 Nov 2013, 10:41 am

hi  which is best chain lube  , rag and paintbrush with sae 80, scott oiler, other auto system. I question auto systems can not see how they keep chain dirt free where does the dirt go?
glen.wilson1@gmx.com
the 900
the 900

Awesome!

Re: auto chain lub systems

Post by glen.wilson1@gmx.com on Thu 14 Nov 2013, 11:23 am

ive been using old engine oil and a paint brush and im sold on it. never used to but i got fed up of sticky lube getting everywhere and also i always find round the inside wall of the chain still goes rusty with lube. ive had no flicking off with using the brush/oil method just dont go over the top with it. i got the bike with a scott oiler but it wasnt maintained and i couldnt fix it so i had to sling it so i have little experience with these.
stormbringer

Post by stormbringer on Thu 14 Nov 2013, 12:23 pm

You may possibly benefit from reading this thread.

Loobman: Works. No-shit-install. Cheap.

I'm a convert Smile

sullivj
the 900
the 900

Post by sullivj on Thu 14 Nov 2013, 1:34 pm

I've ordered a Loobman, but haven't fitted it yet.  For those that have one, has anyone managed to fit the tank inside the seat cavity?
eternally_troubled
Admin
Admin

Awesome!

Post by eternally_troubled on Thu 14 Nov 2013, 2:05 pm

Essentially most chain oilers help clean the chain by applying slightly too much oil, which helps the dirt to fall off as you are moving along.

If you have the time to regularly clean the chain and apply gear oil (or whatever oil you use) you can't go too wrong.

The advantage of the auto-lube system is that you can't forget to do it or 'put it off 'til tomorrow', plus it is always 'ready to go' if you keep it topped up.
UKTyler
Three's a Charm
Three's a Charm

Post by UKTyler on Thu 14 Nov 2013, 7:31 pm