Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

CB500 plus a screen, or a CB500S?

nigelb
nigelb
Barry Sheene
Barry Sheene

Awesome!

CB500 plus a screen, or a CB500S? Empty CB500 plus a screen, or a CB500S?

Post by nigelb on Thu 11 Jul 2013, 12:12 am

Hi

I'm brand new to riding, looking for my first bike, and lots about the CB500 makes sense.

One thing I did find on the Direct access training was that travelling at speed on a naked bike did not suit me!

There are more CB500's about, am I better grabbing one of those and adding a screen, or holding out for the "right" CB500S (the S seems to crop up much less often).

Any suggestions/ideas?

Cheers

Nige
chromedome
chromedome
the 900
the 900

CB500 plus a screen, or a CB500S? Empty Re: CB500 plus a screen, or a CB500S?

Post by chromedome on Thu 11 Jul 2013, 10:38 am

Never ridden a 500S, so couldn't say if the half fairing would give any advantage over the screen I have fitted to my "naked" 500. 

What I will say, however, is that all of the faired bikes I have owned have been very prone to wobbles in crosswinds to varying extents.

I fitted a Powerbronze headlight screen to my bike, and it deflects quite a bit of wind blast away, while not adding to the side cross-sectional area, and thus removing the wind problem. 

(I have to take tablets for that too).
Staib
Staib
Barry Sheene
Barry Sheene

Post by Staib on Thu 11 Jul 2013, 11:51 am

@nigelb wrote:...There are more CB500's about, am I better grabbing one of those and adding a screen, or holding out for the "right" CB500S (the S seems to crop up much less often)...
Hi Nige. Welcome to the great world of motorbikes, and Honda CBs in particular.

I was very impressed last year by a CB500 that I picked up, for a friend, from Lincoln and then rode back to London.

Like you I found that sustained wind blast - along a motorway or A road was pretty uncomfortable...